She who brought winter

Malta is sunshine and warmth – or so I’ve said before. But a few days ago, the impossible happened: it actually snowed. Yep. Snow. In Malta. A joke about global warming would be appropriate now.

image

Got this from Facebook, it's supposedly from Malta weather

While global warming is I undeniable, the reported occurrence of snow isn’t, however. After the first excited disbelief when something white landed on my head, I realised it was, in fact, hailing. As Rhi writes in her post about the almost-snow, hail can occur at much warmer temperatures.

The past few days have, however, been the coldest in over 30 years in Malta, so it IS freezing – outside AND inside. With the Maltese flats being built to keep the heat out in summer, they do just that in winter, too, meaning the temperature is about the same outside and inside. Unless you choose to use heaters constantly, in which case you can watch your electricity bill explode as the hot air escapes through the ventilation holes.

image

Cuddling - they're doing it wright

So the cheaper and greener option (speaking of global warming) is to cuddle up with a blanket (or two), listen to the English and drink tea – lovely, dahling.

image

Teatime (and some coffee to keep things interesting)

If you’re feeling bored adventurous, you can also go out on a seaside walk to watch the unbelievably big waves crash against the rocks. Don’t go to close, though, or you could end up completely soaked by a particularly huge wave – I’ve seen it happen. Also, don’t bother to bring an umbrella unless you’re Mary Poppins and ready for a turbulent flight. My mum tried – her luggage was one umbrella lighter when she flew back to Austria on Friday.
image

Speaking of which, now that she’s gone, the weather’s slowly going back to normal (meaning sunny and warm), so I totally blame it on her… πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “She who brought winter

  1. Hey, thanks for the link πŸ™‚ Turns out, I could have made a fool of myself- on new years eve it did actually plummet to 2oC outside which is cold enough to snow… but just because it is cold enough to snow doesn’t mean it will snow and by the morning it was back up to 9 degrees. We did live through a historically cold new years for sure.

    I totally feel you about the umbrellas- the rain here falls so heavily but the wind renders all methods of staying dry (hoods, umbrellas) totally useless!

    Off to read all through your blog πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I don’t know, everyone says something different about the snow! I only saw hail, but who knows? At least now it’s getting warmer…

      Hope you like my blog, I love yours! I read all of it before I came here and now I like it even more because I can relate to it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think!

