5 reasons for working evening shifts

image

If you could choose between getting up at 6 or sleeping for as long as you want, which one would you go for? I haven’t decided yet.

Working for an online company comes with working shifts. The internet never sleps, and neither does the company I work for, so everyone has to do shifts, either from 7am to 3:30pm or from 3:30pm to midnight. There’s another one from midnight to 7, but only for more senior employees. At first, the evening shift sounds horrible, I admit that. But I’ve found 5 reasons why it’s not:

1. Tennis in the morning

image

Ready for morning tennis

I’ve talked before about how much I love tennis, and it’s best in the morning when I’m still fresh.

2. Longer days

When I have to work till midnight, I get up at 8 (yup, that’s what “sleeping for as long as I want” means to me) so there’s loads of time to do stuff and I’m all relaxed and ready to rock.

3. Breakfast at Cinnabon

image

Cinnabon rolls are heavenly

For those who don’t know Cinnabon, they have the best cinnamon rolls ever! Go there, try them and be ready to fall in love. Is there a better way to start the day? 

4. Kitty cuddling time

image

Charon, my crazy, cute cat

In the morning my cats are lazy and cuddly, unlike evenings when they turn into predators.

5. Sunshine

 I’m a day person, so I love the fact that I can seize the day in the sun. Why not choose to sit in the office during the night? The weather doesn’t make any difference there, except for the sunlight reflecting on the monitors, making it hard to see anything. (Which is another reason for the evening shift.)

Share the benefits of your working hours in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “5 reasons for working evening shifts

  1. Deine Argumente sind sehr gut ! Ich denke jedoch, dass es auch auf die Art der Arbeit ankommt, die man bis Mitternacht zu verrichten hat. Ich selbst hätte vor der Arbeit immer das Gefühl, mich für meine bevorstehende Tätigkeit schonen zu müssen und würde daher vor 15:30 h nicht allzu viel Aktivitäten setzen, um dann nicht müde oder unkonzentriert zu sein…
    Vielleicht liegt es auch am Alter, da die Leistungsfähigkeit mit dem älter werden zurück geht und man längere Erholungsphasen benötigt.
    Für dich und deinen Job scheint es jedenfalls zu passen, so wie du argumentierst. Das freut mich. Es ist aber vermutlich immer eine individuelle Sache und bei jedem Menschen anders…

    Like

    1. Das stimmt schon, wenn man nicht aufpasst und sich zu sehr auslaugt, dann ist man am Abend müde und kann seine Arbeit nicht mehr ordentlich verrichten. Aber ich vollbringe ja keine geistigen Hochleistungen am Vormittag, sondern bin eher körperlich aktiv. Da ich dann in der Arbeit sowieso nur sitze, tut die Abwechslung ganz gut und das lange Sitzen fällt leichter. Ich glaube sogar, dass ich mich dann besser konzentrieren kann. Und natürlich lässt die Leistungsfähigkeit mit dem Alter nach, aber ich denke, dass sportliche Tätigkeiten vor der Arbeit immer gut tun, wenn der Job nur aus Sitzen besteht…

      Like

Let me know what you think!

